Ansa McAl Trading, Sanjay’s Variety Store offer support

Guyana Times article.

Georgetown, Guyana - Two more corporate entities have come onboard in support of the ‘Cricket for Unity’ 20/20 match that will be played on July 5 at the Demerara Cricket Club ground, Queenstown.

Ansa McAl Trading Limited and Sanjay’s Variety Store have both thrown their weight behind the game which will feature prominent businessmen, politicians, members of the armed forces, media personalities and former cricketers.

Ansa McAl’s Brand Coordinator, Nigel Worrell, handed over his company’s contribution to Chairman of the ‘Cricket for Unity’ Committee, Dexter Garnett at their Beterverwagting, East Coast Demerara, headquarters.

ANSA McAl’s Brand Coordinator, Nigel Worrell (left), hands over their contribution to Dexter Garnett

Worrell, in handing over his company’s contribution, said the idea for such a game was a brilliant one, and to see so many persons already confirming their participation is commendable.

“To see politicians, members of the business community among others giving their commitment to play, is very exciting, and as a company we would want to support this cause which is for a good. We would like to encourage lovers of the game to come out on July 5 to cheer on these players at DCC,” Worrell said.

Sanjay’s Variety Store Manager, Pawan Peswani, also commended Garnett for taking on such an event, stating that his company is 100 percent committed to it. Garnett expressed gratitude to both Worrell and Peswani for their company’s partnership which he said would certainly help to make the event a success.

Meanwhile, the players for the two teams competing, Roraima Strikers and Kaieteur Thunders, are asked to make contact with Coach Garvin Nedd on 617-9381 to finalise the sizes of their uniforms to be provided by the organisers.

Dexter Garnett (right) receives Sanjay’s Variety Store’s contribution from Manager Pawan Peswani

Roraima Strikers squad reads: Neil Barry, Lloyd Harper, Travis Dowlin, Jomo Primo, Gordon Moseley, Clifton Hickens, Orin Forde, Anthony Rigby, Aaron Fraser, Jermaine Neblette, Kirk ‘Chow Pow’ Jardine, James Bond, Lennox Cush, Colin Stuart, Alfred King and Anand Sanasie. Coaches: Reon Griffith and Andre Percival.

Kaieteur Thunders squad reads: Raphael Trotman, Asif Khan, Khemraj Ramjattan, Carey Griffith, Rabindranauth Seeram, Sheik Mohamed, Clyde Butts, Tony Najab, Reon King, Esan Crandon, David Harper, Alfred Mentore, Steve Ninvalle, Lakeram Mike Singh and Ramesh Sunich. Coaches: Clive Grimmond and Garvin Nedd.

First Published In The Guyana Times.

Wed, 06/25/2014 - 03:47